Before and After

before 5As most of you know, we moved to a beautiful place about 22 months ago. Ray Brown and I have worked pretty much non-stop, “fixing the place up”, and I’ve pretty much decided we’ll never be finished. Seems like every time I finish one thing, I find another one I want to do.

When we moved in, we hardly noticed the little sitting area beside the driveway. It was just a few un-level patio stones, with a bench the previous owner left behind. We added some chairs, and soon found out the little spot beneath the trees was a natural breezeway off the lake, and since, have spent many enjoyable hours relaxing there.

Well, as you might guess (if you know me very well) I saw the need to improve it. The picture above is the before, and the one below is the after. The shrubs will grow into a 2′ high hedge in a few years, and I think it’ll look purty dern good. They’re white azaleas, too, and will be covered with beautiful flowers in the spring.

after 1

6 Comments »

  1. r2a2r2j2 said

    ‘I’ve pretty much decided we’ll never be finished. Seems like every time I finish one thing, I find another one I want to do.’

    If this is true, how are you ever going to enjoy your new sitting area. I’m certain you’ll take some time to rest. This is just beautiful.

    • Oh, don’t you worry! We enjoy it plenty. Just came in from enjoying a fire in the chimenia on this beautiful Texas night. Life is good!

      • r2a2r2j2 said

        Life is good! Its finally a T-shirt Day here in Maine! 70 degrees and sitting out on the deck watching my husband do yard chores. Tee-hee.

      • Wonderful! Glad to hear it’s finally warming up! But, don’t wear him out. There’s lots of good weather ahead.

  2. Sherry Mashburn said

    My favorite place!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

