Get Your Ducks In A Row!

This post needs no introduction or explanation, or, perhaps, it needs quite a lot of one or the other. I’ll let you decide.

Ducks In A Row

 

Get your ducks in a row, the boss yelled

You best get your stuff in one sack

Get your act together, he screamed

Or tomorrow we won’t need you back

 

duck - supWell, I had no idea what he meant

So I started to pace and fret

I don’t own any ducks, I thought

My predicament caused me to sweat

 

Noon came around and away I flew

Drove fast to the nearest mall

Purchased a book of duck tricks

And a quite expensive duck call

 

Raced out of town to the lake

Used the duck call that cost twenty bucks

Was worth it, for out of the reeds

Came a waddling, six little ducks

 

I’m quacking up, I thought to myself

(For there wasn’t another soul there)

I got out the book of duck tricks

And a duck act I began to prepare

 

I tried everything in the trick book

But them ducks seemed none too bright

Then the answer came suddenly to me

Above my head shone a bulb of light

 

Drove back to the office post haste

The monkey was near off my back

Told the boss, they’re not in a row, but…

Would you settle for six ducks in a sack

 

Copyright © 1998 C. Mashburn

 

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

