Guy Fieri’s Got Nothing On Us!

In keeping with one of my themes (I have several, ya know) I am compelled to report the following:

We recently took a leisurely, scenic, drive to Arizona to visit my boyhood pal, Barry and his lovely wife, Marilyn. We spent only two and a half days at their home, but it was wonderful. It was as though Barry and I had never been apart, and Sherry and Marilyn hit it off too. I think they enjoyed hearing me and Barry tell our tall tales.

Our trip there and back was also glorious. We seldom take the Interstates, preferring to Patterson sunrise - quoteenjoy the sights, and visiting new places. We also like to indulge our adventurous side by trying out the diner’s and dives in small towns along the way. Guy Fieri’s got nothing on us; except the money, the car, and the hair.

Alas, our short vacation was simply awesome but unfortunately our arrival home was not; the A/C (air conditioning) demon had decided to visit our house for a couple of days, and I won’t go into the sordid details, but suffice it to say, it was quite a mind-blowing ordeal. But! Now that it’s over, we can get back to normal, and return to our good thoughts about our time with friends and the wonderful drive. And! The time Sherry and I got to spend together.

The theme I mentioned at the onset of this story is this: We should never let the bad things destroy the memory of the good things. We should deal with the bad things, then re-focus on all that’s good in our lives. No, it’s not always easy to do—I can vouch for that—but it can be done, and the peace and joy it affords us is what makes life wonderful.

Be blessed, my friends. Even more than that… count your blessings.

Let us acknowledge the LORD; let us press on to acknowledge him. As surely as the sun rises, he will appear; he will come to us like the winter rains, like the spring rains that water the earth.” Hosea 6:3

4 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    You changed it up a bit from this morning, but I like it!!

  2. Michael Penn said

    Sorry we didn’t get to visit with you this trip. Next rush job come in Winter and enjoy our sunshine. Would love to take you to neat places while here or just come enjoy the warm desert. God Bless You Both and take care of my little sister’s best friend growing up.

    • If I can ever get Sherry to retire, we’ll be able to take longer trips. We will get out there eventually!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

