I Want to be Rich!

There are timesIn my opinion, Matthew 5:3 contains some of the most well-known words ever spoken by Jesus: Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Matthew 5:3.  I also believe they are quite possibly some of His most misunderstood words. Poor in spirit does not mean defeated and dejected, it simply illustrates we’re not fully aware of God’s unconditional love, and we’re just getting by, when we could be thriving.

I consider myself to be somewhere in the “middle class” of the spiritual wealth categories, and my favorite verse says quite well where I consider myself to be in my spiritual journey: In Philippians 3:13 Paul says about himself, “Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead.”

I strain daily toward more love, more knowledge, and above all, I strain toward the kingdom of heaven. The wealth I seek is God’s love, peace, and joy; and when it comes to those things… I want to be rich!

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

