My Dog Taught Me This

 

Our little dog, Dockers, passed away four years ago. She was seventeen years old, and we had watched her age with a sadness tinged with awe. She was nearly blind, almost deaf, and even her keen sense of smell had faded, but her love and loyalty to me and Sherry were as strong and unwavering as ever.

She was happiest when she was in the same room with us, and would often pace room to room, searching for us. Toward the end, when she would search for us, I would go to her and pet her, and then, knowing we were near, she’d go to her bed by the fireplace and lie down. She simply needed to know we were close by.

That’s how it should be with us and God:

sunrise-on-the-lake-quote

My dog taught me this.

I love those who love me. Those who seek me diligently will find me. Proverbs 8:17

 

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

