No Oars Required

Kellie Elmore–the best poet I’ve ever known–inspired this story with her Free Write Friday prompt. She is one of many people God has placed, and continues to place, in my path. Mom… well she’s been tugging my boat toward the right river for 66+ years. In my humble opinion, every day is Mother’s Day.

Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still... and know that I am God"

I found myself adrift on a river; a river made muddy by choices I’d made. For years too many to count, I had rowed mightily toward nowhere, often encountering rocks and desolate shores; shores left barren by others like me who had used the best of what they’d found, then tossed the remnants of their own lives into the swollen muddy stream—giving up.

View original post 501 more words

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

