The Things I Carried

Many times, we carry baggage from our past that distorts the present and holds the future at bay. The thing is, we have a choice what we carry, and when we finally realize we can put the baggage down, it not only frees us from the hurts and failures of the past, but it allows us to step boldly and with hope into the future. If after reading this post you want to know what the reference to “Friday Night Lights” is about, click on the link at the bottom of the post.

Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still... and know that I am God"

I strongly believe we are products of our surroundings and, unfortunately, when we are young our surroundings cannot be of our own choosing. We are born into the time we are born into, to those we are born to, and if we’re lucky… well, we’re just lucky. The thing is, we don’t have to carry the bad stuff from our past with us, and the sooner we realize this simple truth, the sooner we will become the person we can be. Countless times I have said, “I wish I’d known then, what I know now.” Now… I’m just glad I know it now.

View original post 361 more words

2 Comments »

  1. Ken Mashburn said

    Very good Bro. little to close to home, Tried to make me sad but I said hell no I won’t go. I guess that means I got your point. Cheers Ken

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

