Maybe I’ve Got Time

Do you ever think about an old friend, and wonder what happened to them; where they are now? Do you wonder why you lost touch with them; why they didn’t care about you enough to stay in touch, and remain a part of your life? I do, and it usually comes down to the fact I didn’t care enough to try to remain a part of theirs. It’s one of those things I tend to beat myself up about. Maybe I’ve got time to fix it.

Wanting Something

 

It’s too easy to leave

Ask the countless people

I’ve left in my wake

As I blasted by them

 

To stay or go

Was never the question

Never slowing down long enough

To know I was loved

 

Oh, I knew it

I could feel it

I pretended not to see

Played dumb

 

Said I didn’t care

Lying through my teeth

Wanting something

Not sure what

 

5-6-17 3 quoteIt took me way too long

To realize what I was doing

The devastation I was leaving behind

By resisting the temptation

 

The temptation to let myself

Be loved by someone

The temptation to admit

I loved someone

 

And now… I could just cry

But… you know what

Maybe I’ve got time to fix this

It’s never too late for a start-over

 

Copyright © 2017 C Mashburn

2 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Yep . . . I never take the time to just pick up the phone to call someone I care about. I need to fix that!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

