Dreaming Short Dreams

dreamingSometimes a thought comes at you broadside and knocks you for a loop. You start thinking about things, and pretty soon you’re sitting on the curb with your head in your hands. Eventually, you shake it off and finish the walk home. Then, you write it down and show it to the world.

Dreaming Downhill

 

I remember topping the rise

Picked up a book one night

And the words were blurred

No warning

The boss laughed at me

Said I needed reading glasses

Oh

 

Dug in my heels

Thinking it was too early

I was too young

To start down the other side

Seemed like a long stretch of level

Should’ve come before the steep drop

Nope

 

Hit some rocks and flipped out

Into mid-air, screaming and flailing

Grabbed onto a bush

To slow myself down

Slid on my butt for a ways

Through poison ivy

Scratch

 

Dusted myself off

Zigged and zagged for a while

Going slow, making it last

Started wondering about the dreams

Forgotten… left behind

Should I go back for them

Sigh

 

Seeing I wasn’t dead yet, eventually

I decided, yes, new dreams

Easy ones maybe

But something to shoot for

Hoping the powder was dry

Trying to recall how many shots I’d fired

Days

 

And that’s where you find me today

Dreaming short dreams

Easing down the far side of the hill

The rainbow’s end in sight

Behind that next big rock

Pot of gold there… I think

Not

 

Copyright © 2012 C. Mashburn

Sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub’s Open Link Night #46 this evening. Wander on over there if you want to read some really good poetry. (Not mine, silly! There are real poets over there!)

1 Comment »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Nothing wrong with short dreams . . .

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

