It Was Bound To Happen!

This is a true story. It happened in the summer of 1998 when Sherry and I lived in Pflugerville. It was a dawning of the ages, I suspect. I hope it brings a smile to your face; it does mine, every time I read it.

The Grouchy Old Man

 Was not long ago this happenin’ happent

On a Saturday as I best recall

Out the window I saw some kids in a tree

And thought, what if they should fall

 

Stepped out the front door and in a gruff tone

Said, you kids get outta that tree

Their eyes got all bugged & they fell like ripe fruit

Then ran off as fast as could be

 

They ran down that street lickety split

Like the devil himself had roared

I chuckled and watched ‘em high tailin’

And then thought to myself, oh Lord

 

The wife had come out to check on the fuss

And saw the kids as they fled the scene

She saw the strange grin I had on my face

And said, dear are you being mean

groucho

 

Well, alas, my dear, seems I’ve finally done it

She asked, what is that, my sweet

I replied with a sigh, I’ve gone and become

That grouchy old man down the street

 

Copyright © 1998 C. Mashburn

2 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Still makes me laugh!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

