Well… Come On Then!

We never know when we might encourage another person, and oftentimes we don’t even know we’ve done so. I can recall times when I was feeling down, and a stranger showed me a small kindness that cheered me up.

toddler fishing 2I’ll never forget the time I stopped at a historical mill in Arkansas. A toddler was coming out of the mill with his mother as we were going in, and he stopped in front of me. “We’re goin’ fishin’,” he told me excitedly. I grinned at him and said, “Me too!” The little guy just stood there staring at me with gigantic blue eyes, and after about half a minute, said, “Well… come on then!” That brief encounter occurred over twenty years ago, but it blessed me then and has brought a smile to my face many times since. The little boy, obviously, had no idea he was refreshing my heart, but he left a lasting impression on me.

God sends refreshment in many and varied ways. Don’t get so down you forget to look up. You might miss your blessing.

Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints. Philemon 1:7

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

