Is It Too Late?

Today 6-10-2016 quote 3I love mornings, but there is no joy in my heart on this morning as I watch the sun coming up behind the trees. No, this morning there’s a lump in my throat, and an empty pain in my stomach. My mind is almost numb.

Almost every day, I start with coffee at my desk, and I read emails, check the weather report, and scroll through the posts on Facebook. Then, sometimes, I will prepare an encouraging post to place on my blog. But this morning, the first thing I saw when I turned on my computer was this headline, “5 OFFICERS KILLED, 6 INJURED BY SNIPERS AT DALLAS PROTEST”.

My first reaction was anger, followed immediately by sadness so profound I could literally taste it. An hour later—still at my desk—I am stunned; stunned at the evil running rampant in this country and the world. I wish I had the answer; the magic words that would make it all stop, but I don’t. I could write and post venomous diatribes, but it wouldn’t change anything. I could implore people to pray for our nation, and some would, but many would scroll past my words at the mere sight of the word “pray”, or the mention of God.

No one man or group can be blamed for what is happening to our country. In fact, “blame” is at the very root of our situation. We have come to a point where our fingers are pointed at everyone else, but no one is accepting responsibility for why we are in this mess. Me, I know I’m just as much to blame as anyone. Like many of us, I stood by for too many years and watched in apathy as our country changed around me, thinking, “It ain’t no skin off my back.” Too late, I realize I was being skinned alive and didn’t know it, because I’d been anesthetized by the lies and subtle nudging that brought us to this place and time.

This morning I feel as though I’m tied to a chair that’s been placed on the railroad tracks, and I’m being forced to watch the train of destruction barreling toward us. And, though it may be too late to stop the onrushing train and the devastation it will cause, I will pray that it’s not.

1 Comment »

  1. wilmalee33 said

    2 Chronicles 7:14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

