Billy Bully Bull

Children’s stories aren’t usually my thing, but that’s the prompt for Gooseberry Garden’s Poetry Picnic Week #21, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. This is one I penned quite clumsily a while back, and I did an extensive re-write on this morning. I hope you enjoy it!

Billy Bully Bull

 

They called him Billy Bully Bull

Because of meanness he was quite full

He wouldn’t even let his brother

Nurse with him beneath their mother

 

His mom would say, Billy please be fair

It’s so much better when you share

Billy would stomp and let out a loud snort

He was so very mean, just a terrible sort

 

He’d glare at his mother and then he’d holler

It’s not my problem he’s so much smaller

Why, I’ll be the biggest bull in this herd

He pawed and bucked then chased a small bird

 

Mama cow shook her head and softly she sighed

Turned her head away and big tears she cried

It made her so sad, I’m sure you must know

When her Billy would always such meanness show

 

Then one morning as Billy greedily ate

A small baby deer wandered through the south gate

Billy chased it far off to a big shady oak tree

And what Billy saw there made him sad as could be

 

The little deer’s legs shook and it cried

For alas the poor baby deer’s mother had died

Then a strange new feeling filled Billy’s heart

As he felt within him a kind new life start

 

And as the sun rose the very next day

Billy thought it was shining a much shinier way

His mom was so happy she didn’t know what to do

She raised her head high and said the happiest moo

 

Looking ‘round at her Billy, she was bursting with pride

As he nursed on her gently, the baby deer by his side

Billy Bull looked up and winked at his mother

Then looked underneath her and winked, too, at his brother

 

Copyright © 2012 C. Mashburn

54 Comments »

  1. this made me smile, something i needed badly today. thank you.

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/letters-dear-death/

    • I’m sorry you “needed” a smile, Kellie, but I’m glad I could deliver one!
      Hope things are improving! Thanks for the visit and comment!

  2. kez said

    what a fab Kids story …one if I had grandkids I would love to read to them …thank you so much for sharing x

  3. Taylor said

    Billy Bully Bull,

    your words start way too cool,

    fresh poem posted and popping in front of us like bamboo,
    it feels like a dream come true,

    giggles, thanks for the fun.

  4. zongrik said

    what a sad but touching tale

    bumble bee

  5. Grace said

    Very nice story…I like the day becoming shinier and brighter towards the end ~

  6. Absolutely Adorable!
    Great moral is shown here!

  7. Sherry Mashburn said

    great moral here for the little ones (and some adults, too!)

  8. ~L said

    Your site always brings smiles within for me! This was great!!!!!

    ~L

    • That makes me happy! I love to make folks smile!
      Thank you for the great comment!

  9. This is definitely a moral poem for all. Excellent writing. My poem: http://verseinanutshell.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/count-on/

  10. terri0729 said

    Well, I must say for not “usually being your thing” at writing children’s stories, you did a fine job of this one 🙂 Blessings, Terri

  11. Good job. I definitely can’t do this sort of thing. 🙂

    • But, you do what you do do well!
      Thanks for the visit and nice comment, Madeleine!

  12. Enjoyed this! So glad everyone finds happiness and harmony! 🙂

    • Thank you, Sasha. Happiness and harmony is a good thing!
      I appreciate the visit and comment!

  13. Learning to share is difficult to learn. Your poem teaches that lesson. Well done!

    • Yes it is a difficult lesson for some reason. Humans tend to be inherently selfish, it seems.
      Thanks for the visit and nice comment!

  14. This is WONDERFUL … I can see it as a published children’s story … important message delivered … for both children and adults alike.

    Bravo, Sir Charles !! \\(^o^)//

    • Yes! I can imagine the pictures that would accompany it, too!
      Thank you for the visit and wonderful comment, Becca!

  15. Nice, Charles, especially if you don’t consider it your thing. I think it has a similar flavor to a lot of your other work, which you perhaps do not consider for kids. But, your sense of wonder and your faith underlie what you write, which are wonderful qualities for children’s writing.

    I must add that “happiest moo” was a delightful phrase. 🙂

    • Yes’m, I suppose my “voice” will come through on most anything I write.
      Thanks very much for the visit and wonderful comment!
      (I like the “happiest moo” too!)

  16. o man! I could picture it so vividly, the pushing, the meanness, the lessons 🙂 well done as usual, happy goosebery day!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/nakedness/

  17. Dawn said

    Loved the child in the entire poem 🙂 …keep rocking
    Cheers 🙂

    • Thank you, Dawn! I’m glad you enjoyed it!
      I appreciate the visit and comment!

  18. lesson learned, fun is earned,

    beautiful story.

  19. Kay Salady said

    Just wonderful, Charles! You did great with this one. xoXox

  20. angie said

    thanks for your visit to my blog I enjoyed my visit here as well and reading your post

  21. ManicDdaily said

    Deer Billy! k.

  22. Reggie said

    A very nice rhythmic story . It’s good to know that hearts can really turn.
    Thank you for the visit and comment.

    • You are very welcome for the visit and comment.
      And, thank you for dropping by my site and leaving the nice comment!

  23. robin said

    how sweet… thank you

  24. PremI said

    Interesting story line..beautiful rhyme…

    And a wonderful message…

    A perfect poem to be here for the kids….

  25. mairmusic said

    Fun– a modern parable, my friend!

  26. jeannette said

    awwwww…..such a nice story with a happy ending! a great read of kids!

  27. carolina said

    Billy needed an attitude adjustment, thank you this was a fun read.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!