What Was I Thinking

What Was I Thinking

 

They almost ran into me

Coming out, as I was going in

I smiled; touched my hat

Saw both look back when they’d passed

 

Heads almost touching

One asked the other

Loud enough so I could hear

Who was that?

Good question, I silently replied

 

I stepped into the place

Stood just inside

Letting my eyes adjust

From evening light, to next-to-none

 

An ordinary place, except…

No jukebox playing

The murmur of scattered conversation

Musical in its own right

Filled the small room

 

Eyes adjusted, I searched for an empty table

They were plentiful

All the same; round and dark

Old, but clean

 

A waiter was at my side

Almost magically, as I pulled out a chair

Welcome, a drink, sir?

Raised eyebrows when I ordered beer

The couple at the next table glanced and smiled

 

Small; silver hair glowing in the dark

She walked to the stage

The room went deathly silent

Turning away from the mic

She coughed silently, then began

Filling the room with sultry song

 

I cannot say it was not a song

Though no accompaniment was there

It was musical

Though without melody, it was melodic

Transfixed, I listened… in awe

To words well-formed and beautiful

 

When she had finished reciting

A spattering of applause followed her

From the stage to a stool at the bar

My eyes took in the slender back

‘Til a booming voice turned me back to the stage

 

As powerful words crashed and crushed

My hand flew to my breast pocket

Snatched the lined yellow sheet from it

I scanned the lines, then bolted for the door

 

Head down, I moved quickly

Heels clicking the walk, mind whirling

What was I thinking, going to such a place

Thinking I could stand and read my drivel

To those whose breath and heartbeat

Depended on their muse

 

Looking over my shoulder

I saw the sign flicker then light

A letter—the second one—missing

Above the door, in the darkening night

It glared… D verse Poets Pub

 

Copyright © 2012 C. Mashburn

Sharing this with dVerse Poets Pubs, “Meeting The Bar” this evening, where Victoria has asked us to write something abotu “where” we are.

34 Comments »

  1. Well, that was totally original and also so unexpected.
    Very atmospheric and, clever write 🙂

  2. Dang, Charles, you are just too clever. I totally loved the whole atmosphere you created and I’m thinking…don’t know if I’d want to go someplace like that. Especially not alone. So hang around, the next beer is on the house. Smiles.

  3. haha you are always welcome good sir in the pub…i was thinking as i was reading…man i would love to be in a place like that…and guess what i am…smiles….come on back and i will buy the next after victoria…

    • Line ’em up! This is starting to sound like that time I was in Pat O’Briens on Bourbon Street (a very long time ago) drinking shots of tequila with a group of six strangers. We were hootin and hollerin, then all of a sudden I look around, everyone was gone, and there were six (at least) shots sitting on the bar. I looked at the barkeep, and he just shrugged. I said, “Well, we can’t waste ’em”, then downed all six one after the other. Next thing I know it was bout 2 PM and I was on the floor of my hotel room. We stayed in that evening.

      • Oh my gosh…there is no worse hangover than a tequila hangover.

      • The funny thing (not funny haha, but funny strange) was I wasn’t then and never have been a tequila drinker. I never do shots! I just got caught up in the New Orleans party crowd, and went for it (probably had a few beers prior to arriving at O’Briens). It was indeed the worst hangover EVER! No… wait a minute… I can recall some mornings-after when Boones Farm Strawberry Hill was all the rage. GAK!

  4. Susan said

    Don’t go to that place alone! Take me or some one else less practiced than you. The ending would have surprised me had not the second reader made the narrator check the paper in his own pocket . . .

  5. leahJlynn said

    Good poem, at first I thought it was a country western bar and not a place for poets, love that twist.

    • Well, if I was to be found in a bar, you would be more likely to find me in a CW place. Not many poet pubs in central Texas.

  6. Grace said

    Well I will be scared too but you know if the place is friendly and drinks are on the house, I will stay for the great company ~

    Nice to see you in the pub tonight Charles ~

  7. Very unexpected–as I was reading, I was thinking, “hey if you can post them here, you can read them there!” and, of course, I was chuckling at the end. Fun stuff!

  8. Claudia said

    haha…that was so very cool…and so unexpected..and hey…no one will ever raise the eyebrows when you order a beer at the dVerse pub…just saying…smiles

    • I know dat. I was just trying to set the scene of being out of my element. But, you knew dat.
      Thanks, Claudia!

  9. aprille said

    Oh, we need one of those. A flesh ‘n blood one, or bricks and mortar. A local with attitude. Great stuff.

    • Actually, I would not be opposed to attending one if there was one nearby. Being a university town, I might be surprised. But then, they would definitely be surprised to hear what comes out of this old redneck dude.
      Thank you, Aprille!

  10. So much for us to identify with here, Charles. I really enjoyed the read 🙂

  11. kaykuala said

    That’s how it is, Charles? I often wonder how it is at the pub. It sure comes with a bang. Not been there! But with them! Beautiful take!

    Hank

    • Aw, I kinda fictionalized it, Hank. I never been there, and I hear it’s a really cool place.
      Thanks for the comment!

  12. Raivenne said

    Oh nicely done, Charles! I was not expecting that ending. You sir most certainly deserve to be there.

  13. shanyns said

    Oh so cool! Very well done, loved that twist at the end. I think with all of us there it’d be a friendly and encouraging crowd who wouldn’t let you bolt once they saw you had poetry in hand! 🙂

    • Thanks, Shanyns! It was kind of a tongue-in-cheek thing. I feel very welcome at the dVerse Poets Pub!

  14. And it’s been the ruin of many a poor boy…

  15. Cressida de Nova said

    I like the bolting for the door.LOL…very clever indeed.

    • Yep! I felt like I was in the wrong place for sure!
      Thanks for the visit and comment!

  16. Chazinator said

    I loved it. You got the time/place down so right, and then the surprise ending ketting us in on both your fear and the imaginary space of the place. Your self-portrait is superb for its intimacy, especially your shyness. The place itself comes across exactly as one would expect of those outsider places where poetry happens. Love the idea that dVerse is one of “those” places! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!