Suddenly

Claudia, over at dVerse Poets Pub, has asked us to write a poem about change for this, the last poetics feature of the year.  I had another poem ready, hoping it would fit today’s prompt, but I missed it a bit, so I’m going to share an old one that I think definitely fits the theme. I hope you enjoy it.

Suddenly

 

Oft’ times our prayers seem to go unanswered

We start thinking, maybe God doesn’t care

We wait, ever patient, stand on our faith

I’ve been known to stand on an ear

 

No answer comes, we grumble and groan

Quite certain that He doesn’t love us

We try to outguess Him, figure Him out

As He smiles down from high above us

 

He shakes His head, goes on with His work

Surely chuckles about our impatience

For He’ll not let us down, in spite of our frowns

And complaints about His expedience

 

In due time, He would tell us, should we but hear

Good things come to those who wait

For the want that you want, if it’s worth the wanting

Is still good whether early or late

He will answer, my friend… have faith in Him

Picture courtesy of Google images

Picture courtesy of Google images

You will have, and have it abundantly

His blessings will flow, and then you will know

Our God is a God of suddenly

 

Copyright © 1998 C. Mashburn

30 Comments »

  1. claudia said

    Our God is a God of suddenly…ha…i like that…sometimes it seems he is so last minute…but then i know…he isn’t…just in time…smiles

  2. The want that you want will come if it’s worth waiting for, I love that sentiment Charles. Have a very happy 2013!

  3. Mary said

    He definitely answers in his own time in his own way….but answers! Happy New Year to you, Charles.

  4. smiles…true…and often they dont come the way we ask, but we do get our answer….and sometimes you have to wait a good bit of time for the suddenly to happen…this i know…

  5. Awesome poem and love the photo…beautiful choice.

  6. ayala said

    Like the last line 🙂 Happy New Year to you and yours !

  7. jmdh said

    I have wated for things I thought I could not do with out, but after a while I thank God for unanswerd prayers!! Job well done again big guy !

  8. Laurie Kolp said

    Yes… in HIS time… and it will be better than anything we could have ever imagined.

    Happy New Year!

  9. Grace said

    Sometimes what we want is not really what is good for us ~ Thanks for sharing your reflections Charles ~ Happy New Year to you ~

  10. janehewey said

    a God of Suddenly. powerful line, Charles. I can feel your authentic heart shining here.

  11. Bodhirose said

    Sometimes “unanswered” prayers are the biggest gifts of all…right?

    Happy New Year, Charles…my best wishes for your peace and happiness.
    Gayle ~

  12. … and faith a hard thing along with trust… He loves us so and knows it all

  13. He is not to be figured out. That is certain. But there is peace in knowing He is bigger in every way. If I could figure Him out, that might be even more unsettling 🙂

  14. ..this could be the last minute reflections of the year… thank you for offering this.. happy new year… smiles..

  15. Susan said

    What faith! My favorite line: “I’ve been known to stand on an ear.”
    Sometimes I am reduced to my knees, but I like it better in the daily prayer of living that sustains me before the knee and ear standing.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!