Another Night’s Dream

This poem speaks of love lost, and the lonely, tormented mind it can leave in its wake.  It is my entry for The Gooseberry Garden Poetry Picnic Week 13.

Another Night’s Dream

 

Unfamiliar places

Another night’s dream

Fluttering moth in dusty light

Soft, warm kisses… lips unseen

 

Narrow road leads into dark night

Shadows bend and lean across

Mailbox, tree, and night bird

Traveler wandering, soul is lost

 

Candle flickers in open window

Curtain shies from prying wind

Footsteps running, unwanted touch

Pray for morning, darkness end

 

Smell of incense, haunted laughter

Love’s soft fabric gently torn

Pages flutter, place is lost

Words unspoken, end is born

 

Drifting, drifting…. alone we cry

Silence fills the night

Sea of teardrops, vessel empty

Foolish pride has won the fight

 

Copyright © 1998 C. Mashburn

 

39 Comments »

  1. zongrik said

    foolish pride is the worst kind of pride, and pride is the worst sin

  2. beautiful.

    🙂

    love lost, everything turns gray,

  3. terri0729 said

    Nice Charlie! I especially like this line, “Love’s soft fabric gently torn” beautiful phrasing!! Peace, love and blessings, T

  4. Yes, that is so true. Pride or our ego sometimes is our worst enemy.
    A lovely write from you Charles.

  5. Andy said

    Hello Charles.
    Perhaps it’s me & my poetic mind working overtime, but I sense something sad, almost sinister with this poem, especially in the third & fourth stanza. Whatever the case may be, you penned it very well.

    Thanks for sharing & visiting. Your comments are always appreciated.

    Imaginary Dreams

    • You are correct, Andy. There is much hidden within this poem.
      Thank you for the comments!

  6. marit said

    i love the rhyming here

  7. Charles
    I like very much what you wrote
    lots to think about.
    Foolish pride…I like how you used it…
    guilty of it myself…
    feeling that you might have some remorse
    from that pride.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine.

    • I lived many years thinking it was all about me. At times, I still tend to think it is–I’ll never be perfect in any regard. But, yes, I am remorseful about things I have said and done, and this poem comes from the depths of that remorse.
      Thank you for your insightful comments.

  8. I find this one very dark, even threatening, maybe even something evil going on in the middle part. It seems to end in great sadness and regret.

    Larry

  9. Enjoyed the poem. Liked the wording “pages flutter, place is lost”.
    This beckons me to live in the ‘now’. Nice job!
    William

    • I wise choice–to live in the now. The past and it’s regrets cannot be remedied; the future is not to be solved by guesswork; now is our only next step.
      Thanks for the comments, William

  10. Grace said

    A nice reflection on regret and foolish pride ~

    Thanks for sharing this ~

  11. I feel I can relate to this, but I’m not sure how… it just resonates with me. I’ve been guilty of pride all too often, and it’s always been foolish.

  12. What gorgeous images… this is so stirring and so sad… And so unfortunately true!

  13. Sherry Mashburn said

    Beautiful . . . my favorite line is “Words unspoken, end is born”

  14. elegant imagery.

    wow.

    🙂

  15. How pride makes us lose precious feelings. I know right. It baffles me how your poems written a while ago still sits today and marvels. Nice one.

    Cheers!

  16. Becky Sain said

    Oh, that pride gets us every time!
    Well done my friend!

  17. Morning said

    very unbeatable piece.
    your words always find a way to sing and dance.

    🙂

  18. Madeleine said

    I love the line: Love’s soft fabric gently torn

  19. robin said

    very touching and authentic… nice

  20. oooh, haunted laughter.

    • Are you makin fun a my pome? Just kiddin!
      Thanks for the visit and comment, Lauren!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

