The Way It Is Now

It lasted almost ten years, and though some days were better than others, and some were really bad, it was a season of my life worth remembering. The good times with friends were great, the battles with enemies were fierce, and, truth be known, we got outta there just in time.

The Way It Is Now

Yep, I been some places

Done some things

Some I shoulda left undone

Some were memorable

Others were painfully forgettable

But

It’s not always about the season

Quite often it’s all about the place

Life’s kinda like the restaurant business

It’s all about location

Timing is important too

And looking back on that particular season

I was there at the best of times

And got out when the gettin’ was good

I look back now and remember

The way things were—awesome

But I can’t go back

It wouldn’t be the same

Never is

But that’s okay

I’m in a great place now

It’s winter at the moment

Colder’n a well diggers butt

But the place I’m at

Makes me feel like it’s spring

In fact

Things are so good

I feel like I’ve died and gone to heaven

So if anyone asks about me, just tell them

Oh, he’s gone, but…

He’s in a better place

No sir, life ain’t about where you been

Ain’t about where you’re going either

Truth is, it’s about where you are

And who you’re with

Some stay in one place their whole life

Some of us move around like little Johnny

With ants in his pants

I’m with people I love

And we’re in a really good place

So, whatever season you’re in

And wherever you are

Enjoy it

You will never pass this way again

And even if you could

It wouldn’t be the way it is now

Copyright © 2014 C Mashburn 

My pizza crew!

Now THIS was a good season!

Happy New Year, y’all!

Wrote this in article form on New Years Eve, but felt like I had to turn it into a poem of sorts, so I could share it with the good folks at dVerse Poets Pub. I ain’t been there for quite a spell–the move and holidays had me busier than a one-legged man at a butt-kickin contest–and I hear they took a little break for the holidays, too. I wonder if any of ’em will recognize me?

20 Comments »

  1. glad you made it in tonight…and you are right, it is about where you are…i think at times we remember the past through rose colored glasses…maybe that is the grace of our minds…only remembering the good…and we can waste a lot of time waiting ona future we would have a better chance of if we did something now….

    • Thanks, Brian. Rose colored or clear, the past is still wonderful to look back on. Like that picture of my boys; man, it doesn’t get any better than that. But, today is today, and it will one day be a mighty fine memory as well.

  2. Sherry Mashburn said

    good times, babe

  3. Charles, there are so many lines in this that I really love. Great to hear your ‘voice’ again. So glad everyone’s back. Happy NewYear!

  4. Very wise for the start of the year! And I love your line about the restaurant business. Happy New Year, Charles!

    • Been there, done that restaurant thang. Thanks for the visit and comment, Marilyn!

  5. Bill Mashburn said

    I can dig it. What’s with the picture though? Yeesh! I’m 45 man! 🙂

    • Read the caption, Bill. That was one of the best seasons of my life. That picture, that’s my two sons, and I will remember you that way no matter how old you are.

  6. Good advice I think.

  7. Truedessa said

    Charles it is nice to read your words again..nothing like enjoying the
    moment..glad you’re in a good place..

  8. A very happy poem, I am glad for you. Live in the now!

  9. Charles … I always love your poetry … what an awesome tribute to the new year!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

