Dang! (that dog)

 I don’t think this poem got any reads last time around. Dockers is pretty upset about it. So, I’m gonna give y’all another chance. C’mon, give the old dog her 15 minutes!

DANG!

Dang! I said, as I stepped in the pile

My dog had left on the lawn

I looked all around for that little mutt

But alas, the scoundrel was gone

 

Said some choice words, sat down in the yard

And proceeded to clean my shoe

There she was peeking ‘round the corner

With a look that said, I showed you

 

I couldn’t believe the gall of that dog

I jumped up and gave her a chase

Her eyes got real big and away she did run

I was slow, wasn’t much of a race

 

Hadn’t made it half way ‘round the house

When she passed me like I wasn’t moving

Looked up at me with a big doggy grin

Not bad ol’ dude, you’re improving

 

I thought to myself, I’ll teach her a lesson

So, I stopped and hid out by a bush

Who do you think was the one got surprised

She doubled back, gave a nip on my tush

 

I hollered and jumped, shoved my head in the shrub

Then turned on the ornery beast

I saw in her face a joy so intense

Just afore she took off to the east

 

DANG! I repeated, but stayed by the bush

I knew to give chase would be futile

‘Sides, I was thinking as I rubbed on my bum

She don’t bark, but her bite is brutal

 

And so I vowed as the dog ran afar

To remember this painful lesson

From now on when I walk in the yard

I’ll be careful where I’m a steppin’

 

Copyright © 1998 C. Mashburn

Sharing this poem with The Purple Treehouse for their Funny Bunny Friday #5

32 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Ha! I can see her doing that when she was younger (don’t let her know I said that!). Funny, funny! Great rhythm, too.

  2. Hahahaha, gotta watch for.those little.presents,lol!

  3. terri0729 said

    Ya’ gotta love them dogs, especially the smart ones, lol! Good story Charlie!! Blessings, Terri

    • If ya knew this dog, it would be even funnier. She’s a character!
      Thanks for the comments, Terri!

  4. Morning said

    amazing imagery with you stepping into a dog’s pile, what a cool entry.

  5. Enjoyed this post a lot…thanks for bringing a smile to my face.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  6. Tilly Bud said

    That gave me a real laugh out loud moment. Love it!

  7. Dang, I thought, he’s taking a real risk sitting down on that very lawn. If you must watch your step, you best also watch your sit. Enjoyed the poem.

    Larry

    • Oh! Never even thought of that, Larry! Thanks for the good advice! And thanks for the visit and comment, too!

  8. even worse with a new puppy and the landmines are inside the house…thanks for sharing this one,Charles

  9. Ha! Indeed! I am so accustomed to this…I have two dogs. Even walking them around the block (for exercise & to mess elsewhere — Oh, I pick it up), I inevitably step in other people’s dog messes (which they don’t pick up).

    funny poem. thanks for sharing. my two dogs love it.

  10. Bodhirose said

    Dang that was cute! Enjoyed that from start to finish, Charles.

    I don’t have that problem with my cat…

  11. Becky said

    Now how can I pass up a dog blog??? 😉

  12. emanita01 said

    This is a fun one, thanks ;-D

  13. Jess P said

    So cute! Thanks for sharing that with me.

  14. Suzy said

    lol that was fun to read – could picture it all too. thanks for visiting my blog.

  15. great poetry with accentual humor fully packed in it,

    well done.

  16. Love it.. lol, real fun would be to chase your dog..

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!