I Bet They’ll Put Cows in There

We drove over to Houston to see the new grandson yesterday. I didn’t bump my head, didn’t see the guy, and don’t know if a phone was involved, but there was grass, she did swerve away from another car (woke me up), and a bunch of jumbled thoughts came into my head as we drove home. Then… they turned into a poem this morning.

I Bet They’ll Put Cows in There

 

The green grass stretches for miles

Where trees once grew thick

I bet they’ll put cows in there

When the grass gets a bit taller

 

I bump my head against the window

When she swerves away from a car

The guy zips past; never sees us

Staring down at his phone

 

I rub my head, smiling

See her glance at me as I chuckle softly

Looking at the imbedded word on the dash

Airbag

 

I think about the days

Not that long ago really

I would’ve launched into profane anger

Condemning his foolish ways

 

Feeling hurt by a stranger

For his putting my life and hers at risk

Not knowing him; never seeing him again

But hating with a passion deep

 

That was then

Now I smile and chuckle

Things don’t hurt the way they use to

Anger doesn’t pounce on passersby

 

I think about how those things fell away

Revealing the new beneath the old

Like dry wasted skinflakes

Peeling off a nasty sunburn

 

“I should paint my old pickup” I say

“The paint’s starting to peel off”

Another glance my way, but no comment

I add “I’m thinking rib eyes for dinner”

 

Copyright © 2012 C. Mashburn

 

I’ll be sharing this at the dVerse Poets Pub on their Open Link Night #65 tomorrow, but y’all get a sneak preview!

26 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    I love the way your mind works! I don’t know if the driver was using his phone, it just boiled down to he didn’t see us at all, and he was coming into our lane.

    • hmmm… I don’t know that I’d call what my mind does, “work”, but thanks for the good word! 🙂

  2. What a unique spin on those that create ‘road rage’ on a regular basis! *grin* Love the ending!

    • Yes’m. I got no time for the rage any more. I intend to enjoy my life from here on out.

  3. if you are having ribs….can i come over…smiles….ugh on the distracted drivers as well…there are old angers than have tempered for me as well the more mature i get….eek though on them coming into you lane…

    • Too late! I’ll try to give ya more notice next time. And yes, the distracted drivers are surely annoying! Had one yesterday at Lowe’s, sitting at the exit in front of me, staring down at something (gee, I wonder what it was?) I was patient, and when he finally looked up, he took off like I had red lights on top of my truck. He got on the Interstate–I stayed on the access road–and I saw him glance down at his PHONE, then swerve into the other lane, almost hitting a car! I’d say deja vu at this point, but I don’t know how to spell it, so I’ll settle for been-there-done-that.

  4. ayala said

    Ha sometimes it’s a moment distraction by another driver that can change everything. I’m glad you guys were okay and I hope you had a nice visit with your new grandson. 🙂

    • I think we’re all guilty of not paying attention when we’re driving–I know I’ve done it many times–but this thing with phones is really getting out of hand. I just don’t understand why people think they need to be in constant contact with somebody 24 hours a day. Don’t get me started!

  5. Mary said

    Yes, after a while one learns certain things…..that it doesn’t pay to get visibly angry at those fools in cars. (I still say a few words to myself though….I must admit…but nothing otherd can see!)

    • Oh, don’t get me wrong, Mary! I give them a peace of my mind now and then, but in the old days I would’ve given them a lot more than that; possibly after following them (at close range) to their destination. I used to be an angry young man!

  6. Makes me want to be more chill. Thanks

  7. mellowed with time… or just wiser now

    • A little bit of both, I reckon. I ain’t all the way there, but I’m headin in the right direction. And, no, I did NOT ask for directions! 🙂

  8. […] We drove over to Houston to see the new grandson yesterday. I didn’t bump my head, didn’t see the guy, and don’t know if a phone was involved, but there was grass, she did swerve away from another …  […]

  9. tashtoo said

    A lesson I’m in need of today as the real world pounces like predator on prey all over my poor muse. I long to be like this, to not let the unintended mishaps fire me up like they do…but common sense and practicality seem to have gone so far by the way side. Teach me wise one…PLEASE! I’m cursing the fool as I type this! lol

    • And therein lies the problem, Tash. The real world does its evil best to make us crazy every day, all day long! I have a phrase I use all day, every day, to fight back: “It doesn’t matter.” If you think about it, most of the things we allow to upset us really don’t matter in the overall scheme of things. At best, they are mostly minor irritants. The thing is, we get so keyed up due to the constant barrage of those little things, we tend to over react to them. There now! Don’t you feel better? 🙂

      • tashtoo said

        Yes, Charles…and you’ll be pleased to know I am following your lead today…I will be better…that is ultimately, my only goal 🙂

      • All we can do is the best we can do!

  10. Other Mary said

    ‘That was then/ Now I smile and chuckle/Things don’t hurt the way they use to’ What a nice slice of your drive and your thoughts.

  11. Jody Lee Collins said

    Charles–life is way too short to be that angry. YOu got that right. I like the metaphor of the paint peeling off the pick up and the anger shedding itself like dead skin from your life.

    So glad you wrote this.

    • Thanks, Jody Lee! That line was definitely one that came to me on the way home, and it came to me the way I used it in the poem. I actually said it, and a couple of the other thoughts that came to me, to Sherry as we were driving. The thoughts were so random, she said she didn’t see how they could fit together. (Guess I showed her!) 🙂

  12. Raivenne said

    Oh boy! You dear sir are a hoot and a half! Love the ending.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!