My Very Own Angel

I always get irritated when stores start putting out Christmas decorations in October. I just don’t care for the commercialization of Christmas—all holidays, for that matter. It seems it’s all about money and profits these days, and we often lose sight of what we are celebrating.

Well, here I am jumping the gun and posting a Christmas story in October! It’s Bluebell Books’ fault! Their story prompt hit me this way, and I had no control over what came rushing out onto the page. Sorry!

(I hope you enjoy the story!)

I was a child again, and I had no idea who the little girl was, or how she’d gotten on such a high limb in our tree.

“You should come down from there!” I shouted, staring up at her.

Image Credit: Sky Reading by A Chance of Sunshine:

She paid me little mind, just kept reading the book she held in front of her. I thought I could make out the word LIFE in big white letters on the sky blue cover.

 “How did you get up there?” I asked.

She gave me a quick glance, but said nothing.

I looked down, resting my neck and rubbing it with one hand, and when I looked up again she was staring down at me curiously.

I probably looked quite curious too, as I studied a vine that hadn’t been there before, but was now twisted around the trunk and limbs of the big oak. The vine’s leaves were of many different pale colors. I’d never seen anything like it.

“Do you like it?” the girl asked, swinging her legs and smiling down at me.

“It’s beautiful!” I said. “How did you do it?”

She giggled and said, “I didn’t do it, silly. Do you think I’m a magician, or something?”

“Well, you must be because otherwise you wouldn’t be up there.”

Her laughter was musical as she leaned toward me and said. “You are a funny boy.”

“Well, how then?” I asked.

“My Father put me up here,” she said.

I had a sudden burning desire to know who her Father was. I’d never felt so curious about anything. It was as if I knew Him, He knew me, and He was calling to me. I began to swell with joy at the feeling.

“Can I meet Him?” I asked, excitedly.

“You just did,” she said, grinning and giggling.

She rose to her feet; beautiful wings unfurling behind her, as the leaves on the vine lit up in all the brilliant colors of the rainbow; the giant oak suddenly appearing to be a very large Christmas tree. She floated slowly to the top of the tree then sat atop it for a moment, and I felt a warm glow flood over my body.

She began to fade from sight then, as did the vine and bright colored leaves, and just before she was no longer visible, she said, “Merry Christmas, Charlie.”

I awoke in my big chair; Sherry was in the chair next to mine; she was smiling at me; and across the room the many-colored lights on the Christmas tree twinkled merrily. The angel on top of the tree glowed white and bright then all the lights blinked off—the automatic timer doing its job.

“Did you hear me?” Sherry asked.

“No,” I said. “I think I dozed off. What did you say?”

Her smile widened. “I said, Merry Christmas Charlie.”

I smiled and felt the same warm glow I’d felt in the dream wash over me again, as I thought how lucky I was to have my very own angel.

Written for and posted on Bluebell Books’ Short Story Slam – week 13

ONE MORE THING! It would help me a bunch if you could hit the Facebook icon below and share this post with your friends and family. THANKS!

56 Comments »

  1. This is such a charming story that I’ll forgive you for bringing Christmas forward – it’s only a few weeks away anyway! Pure delight.

    • Thanks, Keith! I appreciate ya lettin me slide!
      I appreciate the visit and comments, too!

  2. Morning said

    discovering an angel?

    how neat, thanks for the beautiful story.

    🙂

  3. Sherry Mashburn said

    How lucky we both are!

  4. Beautifully sweet…love Christmas stories

  5. Great story!

  6. The magic of Christmas …. and …
    what a gift you got an angel named – Sherry.
    Blessings,
    Isadora

  7. thingy said

    I have been in the Christmas mood. What a lovely post.

  8. manicddaily said

    Very sweet. You both seem very lucky.

  9. allmyposts said

    Wow!!

    This is cool!! Never expected someone could make something so good out of the prompt!!

    thanks for visiting my blog
    Another Author

  10. zongrik said

    LOL – in my story the girl is magical, in your she facetiously asks if he thinks she is magical.

    • I think she can be most anything we want her to be!
      Thanks for the comments, zongrik!

  11. what a good short story, wasn’t expecting the ending nor the nature of the angel’s identity.

  12. Jamie said

    That’s really cute, and very well constructed.

  13. Well done, Charles. Warm feelings and joy all in one story. You’re blessed to have your own angel.

  14. Bupinder Singh said

    hey hats off, it was a nice piece of story.

  15. heyloworld said

    Nice write.I like it.

  16. Sometimes we just don’t know know what will strike us and where our muse will take us, we just get inspired and have to write!
    I like where your muse took you in this piece. A lovely and sweet take on the picture prompt.

    Keep reading to your little Sherry, the time spent and memories made will last a lifetime!

    • Thanks, Ginny. I seldom know where my muse will take me! In most cases, I just hit the start button and hang on! I love it that way!
      The first thing I thought when I saw the prompt for this story was, “Hey, those leaves look like Christmas lights.” Muse said, “I’m on it! Let’s go!”

  17. Oops, my error this time: meant to say keep reading to your boys, the time you and Sherry spend with them now will be rewarded as they get older!

    • Ha! I was just about to clarify the Sherry comment! You are still a little bit off; my boys are 41 and 43! We don’t read to them, but they did grow up with the love for reading that we have. Our families on both sides love to read!
      Thanks for the visit and comments, Ginny!

  18. Great short story!

  19. A truly magical story,
    Enchanting 🙂

  20. I absolutely love this story! There are several messages in it and they’re all wonderful!

    • Thank you, Belva! You’re the first to mention the messages! I’m glad you like them!

  21. Very nice. I always enjoy your entries.

  22. What a beautiful story you ahve been blessed to share with us all. I love this story. Made me smile all the way through. Perfect story for a perfect picture even if it is a bit early. lime you I dont like everything two months or more ahead of time. But I think this is perfect.
    Blessings

  23. A story of angels…love it..

  24. Laurie said

    Oh, this is such a beautiful story. I loved it! laurie @ http://dealingwithmyinnercritic.blogspot.com/

  25. you are blessed,
    wow.

    handsome man with an angel wife.
    🙂

    • Handsome! You must be referring to the duck!
      And, yes, I am very blessed.
      Thanks for the comments!

  26. mish said

    Very smart… original too. Love the magical atmosphere in your tale… it is only 6 weeks to Christmas, after all…

    I was stumped by this picture, but managed to come up with something…
    http://writer-in-transit.co.za/amusing-encounter/

    • Thanks,Mish! This one stumped me at first, too, but I kept thinking the vines and leaves loked like Christmas lights, so that’s where it ook me.

  27. Wonderful little tale 🙂
    Was definitely a surprise.. didn’t expect to read a Christmas tale on Halloween— 🙂

    Great job, as always 🙂

  28. Usha Dawn said

    Aww that was such a sweet one…I loved it…very sweet 🙂
    Merry Christmas in advance to you 😉
    Cheers!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!