You Talkin’ ta Me?

Raining cats & dogs here today, so I’m just having a little fun. Took this out of a short story I wrote a while back. The story is called “Cool as in Cat“, and if you’d like, you can read it by clicking on the title.  Be cool, y’all!

You Talkin’ ta Me?

 

They call me “Cool”              cat hoodie

I try to live up to the name

They got a butt-load of cats

Beats me how they remember

Which cat is called what

 

                                       But, hey, I’m cool with that

                                      They always get my name right

                                      And the food dish is always full

 

Yep, I’m “Cool”, as in cool cat

Caught in the act!

Caught in the act!

I just stay mellow

Roll with the punches

If you know what I mean

Lay around the house

Lick my paws a lot

 

One of ‘em calls me

I just give ‘em “the look”

giggle

giggle

You’ve seen it

Stop in mid-lick

Narrow the eyes

Still watching you

Go back to licking

 

You talkin’ ta me?

 

Copyright © 2012 C Mashburn

Photos courtesy of Google Images (captions added)

Sharing this with dVerse Poets Pub on their Open link Night #78 later this afternoon.

38 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    What a bright spot on such a gloomy, rainy day!!

  2. Grace said

    Cool poem Charles ~ I will take the rain, rather than winter ~

  3. haha fun piece…our eldest cat just died at christmas…it was pretty sad…we still have the kitten though and they def have personality…cats def have the attitude of coolness…smiles.

    • Sorry bout your cat, but yes, they can be cool creatures. Thanks for the visit and comment, Brian!

    • Brian,
      Sorry about the loss of your cat…my condolences. Did the kitten give you “the look” from inside the tree? Sigh. So sad to loose a pet at any time of the year.

  4. kelly said

    Ha… as a certified crazy cat lady, I can totally relate… we have four, and sometimes five when my son comes to visit… it does get hard to keep track of all their names!

    • So… your son’s a cat? Hahaha! Kidding!
      Thanks for the visit and comment, Kelly!

  5. Cat as hoodlum, smiling…

  6. That’s a cool cat for you! My son did a scratchboard of our cat with that look – captured it perfectly. Peace, Linda

  7. lucychili said

    aren’t lions wonderful, the velvet of cats with serious eyebrows =)

  8. leahJlyn said

    funny and cute :)))

  9. Mary said

    This was fun, Charles! Felines do have a way of giving a person a LOOK, don’t they? And they definitely have ATTITUDE!

  10. I’m a dog person, but thisstill put a smile on my face.

    • well… don’t tell anyone, but… I’m a dog person, too! I just get a kick out of writin’ ’bout cats sometimes!

  11. Love it! And the pictures are purrfect!

  12. Know THE LOOK, and the personality. My cat, Bianca, allows me to live here with her. Thanks for the cheer post on a cold Maine day … I took one cold off…heat wave, in the 20s without a windchill !

    • Oh, my! You can have the 20s, Siggi. I’ll be just fine with the 60s and rain!
      Good thing Bianca lets you stay inside where it’s warm!

  13. Brilliant fun, Charles! Love the captions on the images 🙂

  14. kaykuala said

    Yes, serve them right! Sock it to them, Charlie! They shouldn’t mess around when not required to do so. Nicely!

    Hank

  15. funny… and so cool

  16. Raivenne said

    Hahaha! Oh you’re just too cool for words here, meowoar baby!

  17. There’s nothing like a cat, they have cool all sewn up…oh and that look we know so well… terrific poem. 🙂

  18. Kim Nelson said

    This may be why I am a dog person! As a LEO, I need no feline competition under roof!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!